Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Voodoo Doughnut in Portland, Oregon

Voodoo Doughnut

I still needed a bit more food after dinner, so I figured what better time than to walk a few blocks over to Voodoo Doughnut (22 Southwest 3rd Avenue, 503-241-4704). They had a number of outrageous items like their bacon maple bar or even a bubble gum one. But I went for a more conservative Portland Cream doughnut instead, and unfortunately, I was let down. Sure, it was a sugar bomb like you'd expect it to be, but I was hoping for something greasier like Krispy Kreme. Maybe next time I'll try the Mexican chocolate one; apparently it's dusted in cinnamon and cayenne pepper!

1 comment:

JadedOne said...

We recently came back from Portland and acquired a huge list of restaurants to try. If you are looking for a really great donut, try Blue Star. VooDoo donuts is, unfortunately, overrated. Our favorite from Blue Star was their PB&J. A close second was their lemon curd donut. Sorry for the long comment. I didn't intend it that way but thought it might be helpful to you if you're still in the area and need recommendations :)

We also tried the following.

Nong's Khao Man Gai: Pass on that please. It was not as good as it is hyped up to be.

Pok Pok: We only came here to try their Ike's Vietnamese Fish Sauce Wings. It's a good beer snack.

Podnah's Pit Barbecue: If you want REALLY great BBQ, come here. Their brisket & hot link were to die for.

Grassa: House made pasta. Good stuff.

'Reel M'Inn Tavern: Truely a hidden local gem. Their fried chicken is worth the wait. It takes a while for the bartender to make it.

Tesoaria: I'm not sure if you're a wine drinker but this place is a must try if you are. I typically don't enjoy the entire wine flight from wineries but ALL of their wines are delicious.

Olympia Provisions: Really great charcuterie and food.

Pine State Biscuits: Yeah, I would say their biscuits are worth the wait in line.

Here are a list of other recommendations I got from a friend & cousin that live there.

Restaurants – No Reservations Needed

Fried Egg I’m in Love (Breakfast / Sandwiches) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/fried-egg-im-in-love-portland

Wei Wei (Taiwanese / Beef Noodle Soup & Pork Dumplings) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/wei-wei-a-taste-of-taiwan-portland

Pip’s Donuts (Breakfast) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/pips-original-doughnuts-portland-2?osq=pip%27s+donuts

Salt & Straw (Ice Cream) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/salt-and-straw-portland-2

Teote (Latin American / Arepas) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/nongs-khao-man-gai-portland-2

Screen Door (Brunch / Chicken & Waffles) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/nongs-khao-man-gai-portland-2

Smoke House 21 (BBQ / Ribs) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/smokehouse-21-portland

Bollywood Theater (Indian / Chicken Plate) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/bollywood-theater-portland

Brunch Box (Brunch / Burgers) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/brunch-box-portland-3?sort_by=date_desc

Lardo (Sandwich) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/lardo-portland

Por Que No (Taqueria) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/por-que-no-taqueria-portland

Elephant’s Delicatessen (Deli) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/elephants-delicatessen-portland

Lemongrass (Thai) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/lemongrass-portland
Podnah’s (BBQ) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/podnahs-pit-barbeque-portland

Broder (Scandinavian / Breakfast & Brunch) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/broder-portland

Ox (Steakhouse) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/ox-portland

Accanto (Brunch / Italian) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/accanto-portland

Waffle Window (Breakfast / Waffles) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-waffle-window-portland

Fifty Licks (Ice Cream) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/fifty-licks-portland-2

Restaurants - Reservations Required

Feisty Lamb (Modern American / Brunch) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/feisty-lamb-portland

Tasty n Sons (American / Brunch) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/tasty-n-sons-portland

Ataula (Spanish / Tapas Bar) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/ataula-portland

Bamboo Sushi (Sushi / Local Roll or Salmon Flight) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/bamboo-sushi-portland?osq=bamboo+sushi

Aviary (Asian Fusion / Chawanmushi) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/aviary-portland

Andina (Peruvian / Ceviche, Avocado Stuffed Crab & Stuffed Peppers) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/andina-portland

Kachka (Russian / Dumplings) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/kachka-portland-2 -

Imperial (Modern American) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/paleys-place-portland

Paley’s Place (French / Wine Bar) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/paleys-place-portland

Laurelhurst Market (Steakhouse) - http://www.yelp.com/biz/laurelhurst-market-portland-3